Jump to the beginning of content

Tsun Yip Street Playground Phase 1

The transformation of Tsun Yip Street Playground Phase 1, from an ordinary sitting out area to an open-air industrial culture and art gallery surrounded by green space, is the first project showcasing how findings and recommendation of "The Spirit of Creation –Study of Industrial Culture of Kowloon East" can be integrated into the design of improving our public space . It accommodates the exhibits and art installation of "The Spirit of Creation", which is the essence of economic development in Hong Kong and tells the story of Hong Kong people with great perseverance, braveness and creativity spirit that will be inherited into the future.

By converting four industrial containers into rain shelters and exhibition pavilions, this project in Kwun Tong demonstrates the possibility of adaptive reuse and design for small public spaces. In response to the sequence of four exhibition programs: "introduction/retrospection/envisioning/prospecting", four spatial experiences of "passing through/meandering around/looking up/gazing into" are introduced to illustrate the "Spirit of Creation" of the Industrial Culture of Kowloon East.

Through four different modes of opening up the container's enclosure: "pushing/sliding/ rotating/lifting up", the design looks into different methods of operating display panels for enhancing the interaction between exhibition and audience, as well as exploring different types of transitional spaces between indoor and outdoor environments. The pavilion is designed for accommodating exhibition and leisure, community and culture, as well as public art and urban daily-life.

For the exhibition, the "Introduction and Retrospection" parts mainly use panels to showcase the industrial development of Kwun Tong and Kowloon Bay. Apart from giving the overview of development, the narrative of 'Beginning', 'Heyday', Transformation' and 'Prospect' is adopted to illustrate the evolution of industries. In addition to the explanatory panels, there are artworks created by renowned local visual artist. Some unique products manufactured in Hong Kong such as watches, plastic strainer, hot water kettle, etc. are the inspiration for the sculptures. These unique industrial products are being celebrated by being casted in the middle of clear resin allowing the public to see and appreciate them in the exhibition. A Kowloon East Discovery Map made of welded nuts and corten steel, detailed the amalgamation of materials and stories is also exhibited.

The "Envisioning" part is a vertical container featuring a large scale light installation entitled "The Light of Industry". Layers after layers of blinking neon lights in the shape of gear works seems as if the gear works are moving and turning, attracting the viewer to gaze upwards to the sky. This art work produces colors and lights to symbolize the vibrant industrial culture of East Kowloon. Envisioning drastic changes of this art work symbolizes the "Spirit of Creation" and yearns for a vibrant future.

The "Prospecting" part is an Audio and Visual Exhibition area where the audience can contemplate the prospect of the development of Kowloon East. The video installation titled 'The Voices of Kwun Tong' documenting the aspirations of a numbers of residents in Kwun Tong. Other than the video, the audience can also hear the sharing of the industrialists through ambience sound.

Click here This link will open in a new window for a virtual tour.

跳至內容的開始

駿業街遊樂場第一期

駿業街遊樂場第一期,由一個普通的休憩空間變為工業文化和藝術開放展覽的園地,率先實踐了「九龍東『創造精神』– 工業文化研究」的建議,在優化公共空間設計中融入研究的成果,以「創造精神」為題作展覽,透過藝術裝置等細訴曾為建構香港而努力的一代人的故事,並啟發未來路向,傳承過往堅毅、果敢及創新的精神,以開拓更廣闊的未來。

設計將四個貨櫃改裝的避雨亭兼用為展覽空間,於觀塘這一片小小的公共空間中展現出建築的可持續性及再生的概念,並配合四個展覽主題:「導言 – 回顧 – 展望 – 開創」,塑造了相應的空間:「經過 – 遊走 – 仰望 – 凝視」,探討九龍東工業文化的發展與未來。

由四種不同貨櫃展板的開合方式:「推開 – 拉開 – 轉開 – 舉起」,本設計探索展板的各種展示模式及展覽與觀眾的互動關係,並探索室內與室外環境之間的中介空間。這個展覽兼具展示與休閒的功能,包含社區與文化的活動,以及結合公共藝術與城市的日常生活。

在展品方面,「導言及回顧」主要以平面展版方式展現觀塘及九龍灣工業的發展歷程,包括發展總覧,而工業發展演化是以「開始、全盛、轉化及展望」四個階段作為論述方向。除了平面展版之外,還有由本地著名藝術家所創作的藝術作品一同展出。藝術家選取了一些過去在香港很有特色的工業製品例如鐘錶、塑膠筲箕、熱水壺等作為其雕塑創作靈感,運用倒模的創作方法把這些工業產品凝固於透明水晶膠當中,讓公眾可以細心回味欣賞,另外亦將九龍東的搜索地圖用充滿工業味道的螺絲帽和銹跡班班的耐候鋼的物料展現出工業文化故事。

「展望」部分為直立的貨櫃,內有公共藝術霓虹燈吊飾作品「工業之光」。一層一層齒輪形狀的霓虹燈看似轉動,引領觀眾進入貨櫃後向上凝望。此作品以燈光及顏色象徵著九龍東多姿多采的工業文化,期盼將來發展變化萬千,寓意它將繼續不斷發揮創造精神,創出更優質的未來。

「開創」部分為錄像及音效裝置展覧,讓觀眾可透過影像及聽覺展望將來九龍東的發展。錄像裝置名為「觀塘的聲音」,紀錄多位觀塘街坊對觀塘的願景。觀眾走進開創部分的展覧,亦可透過環境音效聽到工業家分享他們的工業故事。

按此 此連結將會於新視窗開啟進行虛擬導覽。