Jump to the beginning of content

Back Alley Project @Kowloon East @Kowloon East

Back alleys of Kowloon East, mainly in the Kwun Tong Business Area, are currently unattractive and underused. Being among buildings, back alleys can be integrated into the pedestrian network of the whole business area. This Back Alley Project @Kowloon East @Kowloon East is a quick-win that can be carried out in the short run. Some back alleys are included in a pilot scheme for improvement. We support involvement from cross-sector groups, including non-profit organizations, social enterprises, academic institutes, students, local and overseas artists, in beautifying the back alleys with creation of colorful street art and energizing the back alleys with induction of place-making activities. These can attract more pedestrian use and embrace social inclusion in the process of improving the neighbourhood.

We sponsored the Hong Kong Polytechnic University Jockey Club Design Institute for Social Innovation to conduct a research with experiments to examine the walkability of Kowloon East. Design recommendations for the use of back alleys were concluded. For example, the naming of the alleys was proposed in memory of the industrial heyday of Kwun Tong.

Thereafter, we have commissioned the Feasibility Studies on Pedestrian Environment Improvement Schemes for Kowloon Bay and Kwun Tong Business Areas, with an aim to formulate improvement proposals for enhancing walkability in the areas.

With the support of the Highways Department, the back alleys are resurfaced. Colours and patterns are added. We also closely communicate with departments, like the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, to improve the existing environment of the back alleys.

Working closely with the Art Promotion Office of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, artworks are painted on the external wall of a government premises. We also support a social enterprise "RunOurCity" and the Hong Kong Polytechnic University Jockey Club Design Institute for Social Innovation to collaborate with private building owners to beautify the external walls along the back alleys.

In addition, adopting a place-making approach, we support the back street run series This link will open in a new window of “RunOurCity” in Kowloon East.

We hope that the Back Alley Project @Kowloon East can attract more pedestrians using back alleys and relieve the congestion along the main roads during peak hours.

The pilot scheme is only a start to improve the back alleys. We will monitor the situation and adjust our way forward as necessary. We believe that there are a lot of opportunities to cooperate with various stakeholders to add vitality to the back alleys, and thus embracing social inclusion in the process of improving the neighbourhood.

跳至內容的開始

後巷計劃@九龍東

九龍東的後巷主要集中在觀塘商貿區,現時部分後巷的環境缺乏吸引力,未被充分利用。善用大廈之間的後巷,可把後巷融入整個商貿區的行人網絡中,而「後巷計劃@九龍東」便是其中一項可在短期落實的項目。辦事處選出部分後巷作為試點,支持跨界別的團體參與,包括非牟利機構、社會企業、教育機構、學生、本地及海外藝術家等,以色彩繽紛的街頭藝術美化後巷,利用地方營造手法增添後巷活力,吸引更多行人使用,從而發揮共創共融精神改善社區環境。

我們贊助香港理工大學賽馬會社會創新設計院進行研究和實驗,探討九龍東行人流動及道路連繁,並提出一些對於後巷空間運用的設計方案,還提出了替後巷命名,藉以保存對觀塘工業全盛期的回憶。

其後我們分別展開九龍灣及觀塘商貿區行人環境改善可行性研究,制訂方案改善商貿區的行人及道路環境,以加強連繫。

我們聯同路政署在後巷試點重鋪路面,加入簡單而鮮明的線條和圖案,與其他部門如食物環境衛生署緊密溝通,改善現時後巷環境。

我們並與藝術推廣辦事處合作,利用區內一些政府物業作藝術展示。我們亦支持社會企業「全城街馬」及香港理工大學賽馬會社會創新設計院夥拍私人工商業大廈業主美化大廈後巷的牆身。

除了透過藝術展示,我們更透過地方營造手法,支持「全城街馬」在九龍東的後巷舉辦街跑活動計劃 此連結將會於新視窗開啟

我們期望透過這項「後巷計劃」,優化後巷的行人環境,吸引更多行人使用,同時紓緩附近主要行人路段於繁忙時段的擠逼情況。

是次後巷改善計劃是試驗性質,現時只是一個開始,我們會檢視成效,因應結果而調整改善的方法,我們相信各方面仍有很多合作及發揮的空間為後巷增添活力,從而發揮共創共融精神改善社區環境。